Looking for a mini desktop

Hi fellows,

I’d like to ask for your help finding the best solution for a problem I have for some time now. I lack a desktop machine😦. For many reasons I’ve been using laptops for the last 5 years, so I never felt the need for one desk computer.

About an year ago I had to get rid of my precious Tsunami Runner MCL56 [miss you baby!!] and now I feel the need of a machine for my personal use. I am then looking for a desktop with the following requisites:

1. Small and portable like a Mac Mini or a Koala Mini;

2. Minimum specs: Centrino Duo >= 1.7Ghz, 1Gb RAM, SATA >=40Gb, DVD-RW DL, Ethernet 100, USB 2.0; nVidia graphics card w/ 3D acceleration & DVI output [802.11b/g or PCMCIA integration would be great!];

3. Good and noiseless refrigeration;

4. Available in EU with a price surrounding the 750EUR mark;

5. Preference is given to a full Linux compliant hardware combination.

Hope you can help me on this quest for the Holy Mini Desktop! Hail to you🙂

8 thoughts on “Looking for a mini desktop

  1. I already have a monitor, a beautiful LG1980U, a keyb-mouse pack, an Terratec USB 5.1 soundcard , etc. Therefore an iMac is not what I really want, and just look at that price😉
    I am trying to find some good alternatives to Mac Mini, but it might be my final choice.

    Tks Marco for stopping by🙂

  2. I also think that for that you can get a mac mini. The problem is the nvidia graphics part (intel gma). Other than that, it would be my choice if i was looking for one of those😉

    You can get a pc (not mac, i mean) for about the same price that the macmini, but would be much bigger (unless you get one of those cubes i don´t remember the name right now)

  3. Hi Sérgio, tks for your reply. Curiously I’ve been on that website searching for a barebone but I was quick to quit. Now that I got back there I saw one interesting piece: ASUS P3-PH5. [http://www.ewiz.com/detail.php?name=MB-P3-PH5]
    Could you please tell me where and for how much could I get a liquid cooling system for that?

    Tks a lot,
    PP

  4. If you ever want to hear a reader’s feedback🙂 , I rate this article for 4/5. Detailed info, but I just have to go to that damn google to find the missed parts. Thanks, anyway!

  5. OvendySeeld says:

    For a second everything went quiet in the cab, then the driver said, “Look mate, don’t ever do that again. You scared the daylights out of me!”

Leave a Reply

