Databases and Persistence

One of the things I miss the most is my dear Lazyweb. Even though, I know that many of you, my ocasional or fanatic readers (hi mom!), have more than the necessary skills to help me on my doubts.

So, this time I want to learn from you a couple book titles I should read in order to become a master in what concerns database design. From indexes to partitioning, from transactions to locks and clustering, I’m deeply interested in it all. I have some basic knowledge on some of these issues, but as I said, I want to be a master.

Also, I’d like to know from the .NET developers which persistence mechanism they use and why. I’m looking for something as open and mature as Hibernate for Java! I know there’s NHibernate, still I think it lacks a lot of functionality.. Am I wrong here?!

Cheers and thanks for all the fish!

7 thoughts on “Databases and Persistence

  1. Luís Miranda says:

    Probably not what you’re looking for, but for all the theory behind RDBMS the authorative book is “An Introduction to Database Systems” by C.J. Date. The style is is very academic and can be hard to read, but you’ll get much more than an introduction.

  2. From what I’ve read about that book, it surely stands out as a very theoretical read. I guess I’m looking something more pragmatic, like a more “solution-to-problem” thing. Anyway, thanks for the tip😉

  3. @Vitor: I’ll surely take a look on that. Thanks for noticing🙂

    @Ayende: Curious is to say that you “just” released NHibernate 2.0, as some features that have been added in this version where what I was looking for too, like implementation of the query plan that enables our applications to boost performance by caching named-queries. Anyway, I was even asking “am I wrong here?”, so I guess I really need more time with NHibernate. Thank you for updating me on the release status🙂

Leave a Reply

