The unwritten rule

While on my quest for more information on .NET oriented ORM solutions, I asked a friend with some years of .NET experience which ORM he uses and if he could provide me some code I could look at. He pointed me to one OSS project he’s involved with, Midgard.

Midgard’s main goal is to become a solid RAD framework for .NET developers. Yet, as you’ve probably noticed, it’s dead since the end of 2006. Why?! – I asked Pedro. He told me that the project failed because there were no contributors. I immediately refuted this fact as being strong enough to stop the development of such project, or even to give up to “open source” it.

Anyway, he’s right! At least from my perspective, .NET developers are generally unaware of the benefits of OSS. I know it’s somewhat dangerous to generalize this kind of behavior, but as a Java developer for some years now, and having knowledge on the .NET area too this is a conclusion I come to. Curiously, I was reading an article about NHibernate Best Practices with ASP.NET where the author, clearly an advanced .NET developer, states the following:

The most common dissenters of ORM technologies, in general, are developers using Microsoft technologies. (As I’ve placed myself squarely into this realm for the past decade or so, I feel quite comfortable bringing us up first!) There seems to be an unwritten rule that “if it wasn’t invented by Microsoft, then wait until Microsoft puts out the right way to do it”.

Well, simply substitute ORM for the technology you see fit and you’ll probably find this to be profoundly true!

Share your experiences, please. Thanks in advance!

4 thoughts on “The unwritten rule

Leave a Reply

